Source: Laurence Dollimore For Mailonline

Russia has today announced it will end co-operation on the International Space station until Western-led sanctions over its Ukraine invasion are lifted. 

The head of the country’s space agency said it will no longer work with its partners, including NASA and the European Space Agency, on the groundbreaking orbiting laboratory. 

The chief of Roscosmos, Dmitry Rogozin, revealed the move on Twitter and said he will submit a timetable for completion of current projects to the Kremlin.


It follows weeks of threats, delays and cancelled projects from Roscosmos since a wave of sanctions were introduced against oligarchs linked to warring Russian President Vladimir Putin. 

Most astronauts aboard the ISS currently return to Earth aboard Russian Soyuz flights, but Elon Musk’s SpaceX Crew Dragon also now transports crew to the space station and has made four visits so far since its inaugural voyage in 2020. 

The current crew is made up of three Americans (Kayla Barron, Thomas Marshburn, Raja Chari) three Russians (Oleg Artemyev, Denis Matveev, Sergey Korsakov) and one German (Matthias Maurer). 

Read More